The Benefits of Eggs

Since taking wheat out of my diet, I have replaced it with some new menu items that I can’t seem to get enough of. Tomatoes, potatoes and….eggs!

It seems every other day I am reaching in the fridge to make some kind of egg dish for lunch! Whether it be scrambled, poached or just plain old hard boiled, it seems my body is craving eggs with a whole new aggressiveness! 

A lot of websites classify them as superfood and being the google geek that I am, I wanted to know why, and what it is about eggs that keep me coming back so often! 

Other then Eggs being extremely nutritious (Vitamin A, Folate, Vitamin B5, Vitamin B12, Vitamin B2, Phosphorus, Selenium, Vitamin D, Vitamin E, Vitamin K, Vitamin B6, Calcium and Zinc) they come high in protein with 6 grams and are only 77 calories each! Eggs are one of the only foods that contains almost every nutrient that our body needs! That could be the reason for the cravings!

The best part of that 77 calories is that they are extetemly filling, so you don’t need many to have a satisfying lunch! Two eggs and a tomato will run you under 200 calories and you will be stuffed for hours! 

Depending on where you get your eggs, some of them contain omega-3 fatty acids, depending on what the chickens have been fed (always check the box). We get our eggs fresh, organic and local from the farmers market. A little more money but worth the health benefits! Eggs are considered a complete source of protein as they contain all eight essential amino acids…..as if tasting good weren’t enough!

Ok, so now I love them even more! They are like the perfect food!! 

Another amazing point to acknowledge here is that they are inexpensive! That is important to me considering the way I have been going at them! We easily go through 2 dozen a week in this house and there is only 2 of us! Studies do show you can eat 3 or more eggs a day with no adverse side effects! Thank goodness! I was getting worried I was going to start growing feathers šŸ˜

So I hope you enjoyed your eggs today! There are so many great recipes out there, it is impossible to get bored!  

Leave a comment